Skip to main content

Jacksonville Sprint Triathlon

This was my first time I've actually felt good throughout the entire race. This was the first time I've done a real warm up before a race and I think it really helped in the long run.

The swim was pretty uneventful, this was my first ocean swim so I took it easier not really knowing what to except at the start. Got out of the water in 8th so I was excited to get on my bike and see what I could do being closer to the front.

I made it through T1 pretty quick and passed another person in the process. The wind was blowing off the water so there was a slight cross wind for most of the race. I passed two people about 3 miles into the ride and another right before the turnaround. I stayed pretty close in my power window so I felt good and didn't feel like I burned up too many matches in the process. I made it back into T2 in 4th which I was really pumped about since there was only three other bikes in transition when I got back. Maybe one day I'll have that police escort back to T2.

Went through T2 with no issues or anything. Started the run a little too hot just from getting caught up in how far up I was in the field at that point. My first mile was a 7:20 (which is fast for me) then I slowly lost speed getting passed by a few other in the process. It mentally sucked knowing I had done all that work on the bike to have them reel me right back in. Still ended up with my fastest 5K off the bike to date, so that was a positive to take from the day.

I felt like this was one of my better races to date with how the results played out and getting a taste of the front on the bike made it a awesome day. Ended up 13/300 overall and 1st in my age group.

1/4 Ocean Swim- 7:35
T1- 1:02
15 Mile Bike- 40:35
T2- 1:03
5K Run- 23:49



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

And so it begins...

So after talking to a fellow triathlete over some Starbucks one evening I thought it'd be a good idea to start a blog to reflect on all the up's and down's, highlights and lowlights of everyday triathlon training and racing. Here goes nothing!

A little windy Daytona ride

Over the last year I struck up a friendship with Nascar driver Josh Wise and have done a couple rides when he's in town for the Nascar races.  If you don't know who he is, I can sum it up pretty quick, he's a beast and a really strong triathlete. We met up at his condo down by Port Orange and decided to head north for 30 miles. Upon departure we both quickly realized it was going to be a fight going north due to crazy headwinds.  It was easily in the top three windiest rides I've done, other than that the weather was awesome and traffic wasn't too horrible. We did a easy 10 minute spin to get the legs warmed up then started into the wind trying to stay as aero as possible. We averaged a solid 19.5mph average to the turnaround in which was right at Marineland. On the way back he had already looked up a couple Strava segments so we figured we would try to do some Strava hunting and use the wind as much as we could. We averaged about 28.2mph on the way back to town and...

Race #2- The Gang goes to the St. Augustine Lighthouse 5K

My brother-in-law and his wife said they were signing up for this race so it was a no-brainer to tag along and have some fun. I'm much more of a morning workout type of person so this race being held at 4:30pm felt a little strange. I personally didn't really change much of my schedule leading up to the race since it was suppose to be more fun than anything. So I started my day with my scheduled 4 hour ride, ate a ton of food and took a nap, then got ready to head down to the race. It took us forever to get through St. Augustine, so much we almost missed packet pick up and pretty much eliminated any chance of a longer pre-race warm up. We were able to get a quick half mile jog in before we had to line up. The gun went off and I ran the first half mile pretty hard until the front was thinned out some and I wasn't tripping over everyone. I probably burned up a few too matches many running that hard at the start, oh well. I actually didn't feel to horrible during the run...